Temporary Fans – A bye week solution

By Whitney Rivers Vaught

Bye Week.  The one week of the season every college fan dreads. It is the one week we don’t wake up early Saturday, don our jerseys, and settle in for gameday. This year a few friends found a solution to make it through bye week. We decided not to reflect on our bye week and instead show our support for another SEC team.  This week, we are going to be Auburn fans for the weekend and are venturing to Baton Rouge to see the Auburn Tigers take on the LSU Tigers.  The final decision was made by my sorority sister Morgan Corkish.

“My dad is an Auburn Alumni and I don’t think I have ever seen him as happy as when I told him I decided to support Auburn this weekend,” Corkish said. “He went all-out buying me new orange and blue clothes, and even offered to fly me out for the occasion”

While we would rather travel any distance to see our Dawgs play, away games are fun no matter the occasion. No one in our group has ever been to Louisiana, so we decided to stay in New Orleans, then drive to Baton Rouge for gameday. We want to see everything Louisiana has to offer.

“No one goes on a road game and dominates the city like the Georgia Bulldogs,” says Corkish.  “I am excited to see what Auburn fans bring to the table.”

Leave a Reply

